Sabiia Seb
PortuguêsEspañolEnglish
Embrapa
        Busca avançada

Botão Atualizar


Botão Atualizar

Ordenar por: RelevânciaAutorTítuloAnoImprime registros no formato resumido
Registros recuperados: 2
Primeira ... 1 ... Última
Imagem não selecionada

Imprime registro no formato completo
Balancing Development and Conservation? An Assessment of Livelihood and Environmental Outcomes of Nontimber Forest Product Trade in Asia, Africa, and Latin America Ecology and Society
Kusters, Koen; Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR); k.kusters@cgiar.org; Achdiawan, Ramadhani; Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR); r.achdiawan@cgiar.org; Belcher, Brian; Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR); b.belcher@cgiar.org.
This article addresses the question, to what extent and under which conditions nontimber forest product (NTFP) trade leads to both livelihood improvement and forest conservation. We based the analysis on a standardized expert-judgment assessment of the livelihood and environmental outcomes of 55 cases of NTFP trade from Asia, Africa, and Latin America. The results show that NTFP trade benefits several components of peoples' livelihoods, but may increase inequality between households. Involvement of women in the production-to-consumption system (PCS) tends to have a positive impact on intrahousehold equity. In 80% of the cases, the commercial production of NTFPs does not enable people to make financial investments to increase quality and quantity of...
Tipo: Peer-Reviewed Reports Palavras-chave: Assessment; Conservation; Development; Environmental outcomes; Forest use; Livelihoods; Livelihood outcomes; Nontimber forest products; Trade..
Ano: 2006
Imagem não selecionada

Imprime registro no formato completo
Markets Drive the Specialization Strategies of Forest Peoples Ecology and Society
Belcher, Brian; Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR); b.belcher@cgiar.org; Achdiawan, Ramadhani; Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR); r.achdiawan@cgiar.org; Alexiades, Miguel; University of Kent at Canterbury; mna@kent.ac.uk; Campbell, Bruce; Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR); b.campbell@cgiar.org; Cunningham, Tony; World Wildlife Fund/UNESCO/Kew People and Plants Initiative; peopleplants@bigpond.com; Fantini, Alfredo; Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina; afantini@cca.ufsc.br; Gautam, Krishna H; Hokkaido University; khgautam@yahoo.com; de Jong, Wil; Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR); w.de-jong@cgiar.org; Kusters, Koen; Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR); k.kusters@cgiar.org; Kutty, M. Govindan; Sylva conS; sylvacon@md5.vsnl.net.id; Fu, Maoyi; Chinese Academy of Forestry; fmy@fy.hz.zj.cn; Nair, T.K. Raghavan; Sylva conS; tkrnair@hotmail.com; Ndoye, Ousseynou; CIFOR-Cameroon; o.ndoye@cgiar.org; Ocampo, Rafael; ; quassia@racsa.co.cr; Rai, Nitin; ; nitinrai@vsnl.com; Schreckenberg, Kate; Overseas Development Institute; k.schreckenberg@odi.org.uk; Shackleton, Sheona; Rhodes University; s.shackleton@ru.ac.za; Shanley, Patricia; Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR); p.shanley@cgiar.org; Sunderland, Terry; African Rattan Research Programme; afrirattan@aol.com; Youn, Yeo-Chang; Seoul National University; youn@snu.ac.kr.
Engagement in the market changes the opportunities and strategies of forest-related peoples. Efforts to support rural development need to better understand the potential importance of markets and the way people respond to them. To this end, we compared 61 case studies of the commercial production and trade of nontimber forest products from Asia, Africa, and Latin America. The results show that product use is shaped by local markets and institutions, resource abundance, and the relative level of development. Larger regional patterns are also important. High-value products tend to be managed intensively by specialized producers and yield substantially higher incomes than those generated by the less specialized producers of less managed, low-value products....
Tipo: Peer-Reviewed Reports Palavras-chave: Commercialization; Forest use; Market development; Nontimber forest products; Poverty; Resource management; Specialization.
Ano: 2004
Registros recuperados: 2
Primeira ... 1 ... Última
 

Empresa Brasileira de Pesquisa Agropecuária - Embrapa
Todos os direitos reservados, conforme Lei n° 9.610
Política de Privacidade
Área restrita

Embrapa
Parque Estação Biológica - PqEB s/n°
Brasília, DF - Brasil - CEP 70770-901
Fone: (61) 3448-4433 - Fax: (61) 3448-4890 / 3448-4891 SAC: https://www.embrapa.br/fale-conosco

Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional